I Am a Native American Woman With White Privilege

1 Aug

I always wondered what were the thoughts of light skinned people inside a predominantly non-white culture. There are many of them in Latin America, mind you, but because the race issues here are a bit more different than the situation in the U.S.A. (although they’re virtually the same, mind you), it always intrigued me what were their thoughts. I actually remember that a young white Mexican posted her experiences as well, but silly me, I forgot the title and the place in where I found the article…
So it’s nice to find another comment of this around the web, and I am gladly sharing it. After all, the Two Thousands is one weird century in where everything, race included, got so much more complex than before.

Note from the author: This blog uses the term “white privilege.” The correct term is “white-passing privilege.” Please note that white-passing privilege is what I am referring to in this blog. 

First off, I think it’s important to say that I do not, and have not ever primarily identified as white. On my mother’s side, I’m Native American, enrolled in

ghostmy Tribe, and, to a large extent, raised in my culture. I was born on the reservation and lived on or near reservations for much of my life. Indigenous cultural signifiers are important to me – I love Coastal designs and canoes. I love to eat Salmon, attend gatherings, and socialize at potlatches or powwows. However, due to genetics (while both my grandparents on my mother’s side are Indigenous, my grandmother is light-skinned, and my grandfather, of mixed ancestry) it so happens that I am light. Like, really light. Light…

View original post 1,199 more words

Leave a Reply

